Learner's Permit Restrictions
Learner's permit holders may drive when accompanied by an operator who is licensed, who is 21 years of age or over, who has had at least one year of driving experience, and who is occupying a seat beside the driver.
- A permit holder who is under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of 12:00 am (midnight) and 5:00 am unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who is licensed with at least one year of driving experience and whose license or right to operate is not revoked or suspended.
- The permit holder may not operate in another state if it is in violation of that state's law.
- The holder of a motorcycle learner's permit (Class M) may not carry passengers and may not operate after sunset or before sunrise.
- The permit holder must be in possession of the permit when driving.
Driver's Education Requirements
Completion of a driver's education program is required of all Class D and M license applicants under the age of 18. To be eligible for a driver education certificate, you must complete the following:
- 30 hours consisting of educating and familiarizing students with Massachusetts motor vehicle law and safe and proper operation of a vehicle.
- Parent must complete a 2-hour parent information class if you are under age 18.
Motor vehicle on-road instruction:
- 18 hours of instruction in a training vehicle including a minimum of 12 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and 6 hours of observation while another student is taking behind-the-wheel instruction.
Driver's License Requirements
Below are the requirements for applicants between the ages of 16½ and 18 to obtain a Massachusetts driver's license:
- Have a valid learner's permit for at least 6 consecutive months before taking the road test. (Any suspension will invalidate the permit and the 6 months will start again when the suspension is lifted.)
- Maintain a clean driving record for at least 6 consecutive months before taking the road test.
- Successfully complete a driver education program, which includes 30 hours of classroom instruction; 12 hours of in-car, behind-the-wheel training; and 6 hours of in-car observation of other student drivers.
- Complete at least an additional 40 hours of supervised, behind-the-wheel driving as shown by a certified statement by a parent or guardian.
- The RMV will accept 30 hours of driving supervised by a parent or guardian if the applicant completed a driver skills development program.
- A parent or guardian must participate in 2 hours of instruction on the driver's education course (unless they have completed one within the past 5 years).
- Pass a final exam.
Parents and Guardians
The Massachusetts Parent's Supervised Driving Program is designed to improve teen driver safety by providing parents and guardians with a common-sense approach to teaching driving skills.
Parent's Supervised Driving Program
Driver Parent/Guardian Contract